Make your own free website on


State Symbol

Wild Life






The Past & Future



The Land

Arizona is the sixth largest state in the United States. It is about 400 miles long and 355 miles wide. It covers almost 114,000 square miles. That's big, but most of the state is not inhabited by people. You will learn that Arizona's land is not all the same. It is divided into three distinct regions.

The southern part Arizona is called the desert region. It gets little rain and is very dry. The plants and animals that live here must adapt to harsh conditions.

The Mogollon Rim separates Southern Arizona from Central Arizona. This is called the mountain region because there are about 30 mountain ranges. The highest point in Arizona is Mt. Humphreys, north of Flagstaff. It is 12,670 feet above sea level.

The third region, found in Northern Arizona, is called the plateau region. We've learned that a plateau is high, flat land. It covers 45,000 square feet. Here, you will find canyons and inactive volcanoes. When you travel to the Grand Canyon, Petrified Forest or Monument Valley, you are visiting the northern plateau.

Sonora Desert

Sonoran Desert Web Quest


Parks & Park Map - Grand Canyon

Arizona Scenic Byways & Drives

State of Arizona WWW


Plants and other Wonders

Saguaro Cactus

The Desert is Ours Web Quest

Discover Arizona Web Quest

I'm Not A Cactus


Native Arizonans

First Americans

Native Americans of Arizona

Southwest Native Americans



Wild Life Threatened

Watchable Wildlife

Watchable Wildlife In Northern Arizona

Arizona's Nature Hunt Web Quest


State Symbols

Arizona Department of Library, Archives and Public Records Research Division Museum Home Page




U.S. Geological Survey


The Past & Future

Arizona Ghost Stories

Arizona Mining

The American West

Blast Into The Past Web Quest

War Relocation Authority Camps in Arizona, 1942-1946

Arizona Government

 ONLINE Arizona Legislative Information Services

Arizona Web Quest